How to Survive London Fashion Week: 6 Essentials

Picture: British Fashion Council

Have you read my LFW Rookie post? If not, you can find it here. If you have read it, you’ll know that I said I would do a LFW essentials and a LFW survival tips post. Here are six things which I think will help any LFW rookie survive fashion week.

6 LFW Essentials

1. Stay Hydrated!

Whether it’s lots of Vita Coco, as was the way many quenched their thirst this season, or just plain old water, make sure you keep drinking. This is so important when you’re rushing from one show to the next and especially if you’re taking full advantage of the free cocktails and champagne. Don’t forget to eat too. Finding time for a proper lunch can be difficult, so if you don’t have the chance carry some healthy snacks with you to keep your energy levels up.

2. Make an Effort

Now when it comes to dressing, this goes without saying. It is fashion week after all,. But I also mean in other areas. There are tons of people at fashion week and lots of creative types just like you. Make an effort to get to know people, designers, PR peeps etc. I got asked for my card so many times and I don’t have business cards. Don’t miss out on the opportunity to network, you never know what might come of it.

3. Wear Comfortable Shoes

Yes, I know it’s fashion week so you may be automatically thinking highest heels ever, but trust me, big mistake. Unless you are a superhuman heel walker, which to be honest I pretty much count myself as (I never take my heels off on a night out, I wore crazy high heels to my graduation and didn’t stack it when crossing the epic stage), DO NOT RISK IT. If you have a full day of shows you’ll probably end up buying a pair of flats from the nearest Topshop. Of course, if you have a lighter day and want to wear heels go for it. I wore heels on a couple of the days when I didn’t have to be rushing across London or had less shows. But I was so happy I said no to the super comfortable Carvela Spartan Wedge Boots on the other days.

4. Get a Fashion Fairy

My fashion fairy was my friend, experienced LFW correspondent and fashion blogger Fash Journal. She was on hand to help me when I was freaking out about directions (designers can hold their shows all across London), what to wear and everything else. If you’re not covering LFW with a friend, make some. There are plenty of people milling around and show queues are great places to start a conversation. Contrary to what you may have heard, fashion people are friendly.

5. Pack Chargers

If you’re taking your laptop definitely bring your charger. There are plug sockets in the media lounge. And failing that, there’s always Starbucks. You’ll need to be constantly checking your phone for updates on shows, to navigate your way around London and most importantly, to tweet about and Instagram everything! So be sure to pack your phone charger too.

6. Take notes

Taking pictures is a great way to remind yourself of certain details later on, but making notes during the shows will help you to capture all the things that a camera can’t (music, atmosphere, audience reactions etc.) in your article. Plus, this makes things a lot easier when you get home after a long day of seeing multiple collections.

Got any LFW essentials or survival tips that you think LFW goers need to know about? Comment below.

One thought on “How to Survive London Fashion Week: 6 Essentials

  1. Pingback: LFW Rookie | UK Fashion Intern

Leave a Reply

