Girls: UK Premiere

Mistakes Girls Make

Girls had me laughing from the start. The instantly entertaining American comedy about four girls living in New York is less SATC more ‘ordinary girl in any city’. Main character Hannah tells her parents in the pilot episode. ‘I think that I may be the voice of my generation. Or at least a voice, of a generation.’ And I think she’s right, about the first part that is.

I never got into SATC. I was too young at the time and from what I now know the characters lifestyles were too far out of reach for me. Girls, on the other hand, is easily relatable. Maybe because it is not-so-loosely based on the real life and true stories of Lena Dunham (Hannah). Dunham, who writes, directs and stars in Girls, used events and people from her own life as inspiration for the series.

The comparisons with SATC are obvious and expected. Girls even makes reference to the show and its characters, but the connections end there. Girls is witty, funny, relevant and inspiring. It holds its own. Dunham is just one of the brilliant females out there showing girls can do funny.

If you missed the UK premiere which came in the form of a guilt free double bill, catch up now! The series, already critically acclaimed in the US and executively produced by Judd Apatow, is something you don’t want to miss. Girls feels so familiar, yet is boundary pushing and breaking all the rules. It’s like coming home to pyjamas, Ben & Jerry’s and chocolate. Which is exactly what I’ll be wearing and eating when I watch it next week. That is, if the price of Ben & Jerry’s comes down. Like Hannah I have realised I don’t have a disposable income.

The next episode airs Monday 29th at 10pm on Sky Atlantic.

Leave a Reply

